IAPA shortlist revealed


The IAPAs 2016 judging panel (left to right): Shawn Ong, COO, Galmon; Andy Studdert, IPAF president, and chairman & CEO, NES Rentals; Martin Vögtli, CEO, SkyAccess; Ivan Papell, managing director and owner, Liftisa; Mark Atkinson, health & safety manager, Clugston Construction; non-voting chairman, Euan Youdale, editor, Access International.

The shortlist for this year’s International Awards for Powered Access (IAPAs) has been revealed, following the judges’ meeting on 28 January in Basel, Switzerland.

The winners will be announced at the dinner and awards ceremony on 17 March 2016 in Madrid, Spain.

Jointly organised by Access International and IPAF, the IAPAs celebrate best practice and excellence in the powered access industry.

More than 100 entries across 13 award categories were received for the IAPAs 2016.

“There was a good range of highly competitive entries from around the world,” said Euan Youdale, editor of Access International, and non-voting chairman of the judges. “The judges invested considerable time marking all the entries, and discussing and evaluating the merits of the submissions. It was a productive and enjoyable meeting, and we thank the judges for all their efforts.”

The independent and impartial judges make their decisions based on the merit of each entry and are excluded from entering their company for any awards. The judges thank all those who took part and would like to encourage everyone in the industry to consider entering again for the awards in 2017.

The independent judging panel was a combination of IPAF member companies and non-members:
•    Mark Atkinson, health & safety manager, Clugston Construction, UK
•    Shawn Ong, COO, Galmon, Singapore
•    Ivan Papell, managing director and owner, Liftisa, Spain
•    Martin Vögtli, CEO, SkyAccess, Switzerland
•    Andy Studdert, IPAF president, and chairman & CEO, NES Rentals, USA
•    Non-voting chairman of the judges: Euan Youdale, editor, Access International

The IAPAs take place on the same day as the IPAF Summit and regularly attract audiences of more than 450 each year. Make sure you are part of it by booking your place at 

IAPAs 2016 shortlist

IAPA Innovative Technology Prize
France Elevateur, France
Holland Lift, Netherlands
Nationwide Platforms, UK

Powered Access Pioneer
Genie, USA
Haulotte, France
Power Towers, UK
Shanghai Horizon Equipment & Engineering, China
Time International, Denmark

Contribution to Safe Working at Height
Elev8, UK
Mills Rental, Brazil
Philip Godding/JLG, UK
Ruthmann, Germany

IPAF Training Centre of the Year
DK Rental, Belgium
Maltech, Switzerland
Manlift Middle East, UAE

IPAF Instructor of the Year
Ezio Cantamessa, Italy
Alexander de Oliveira Celestino, Brazil
Phil Drayton, UK
José Ramón Etxebarria Urrutia, Spain
Pete Hazell, UK
Vitor Ribeiro, Portugal

Product of the Year – Mast climbing work platforms/hoists
Encomat, Spain, for the Smartclimber
Safi, Italy, for the Vision MC 2500 KG
Scanclimber, Finland, for the Mast Climber Top Crane (MCTC)
XL Group, France, for the XMH multimast platform

Product of the Year – Self-propelled above 20ft/6.1m
Almac, Italy, for the BIBI 850-BL
Dinolift, Finland, for the DINO 220XSE
Hinowa, Italy, for the Lightlift 26.14 Performance IIIS lithium-ion
Holland Lift, Netherlands, for the HL-330 E14 4WDS/N

Product of the Year – Self-propelled below 20ft/6.1m
Faraone, Italy, for the Elevah 51
Haulotte, France, for the STAR 6

Product of the Year – Vehicle/trailer mounted
France Elevateur, France, for the 091Fe
GSR, Italy, for the B200PX
Time Versalift, Denmark, for the LAT-38-135-H

Access Rental Company of the Year
Industrial Access, Romania
Nationwide Platforms, UK
Riwal, Netherlands

Project of the Year
Genie, Netherlands, for the construction of a roller coaster at Hansa Park in Germany
Hydro Mobile, Canada, for the new FAA Control Tower at Tucson Airport, Arizona, USA
Nationwide Platforms, UK, for the Savannah Project, Zoological Society of London (ZSL)
XL Group, France, for the MLC Centre in Sydney, Australia

Access Photo of the Year
Winner will be announced at the awards ceremony

IPAF/Access International Lifetime Achievement Award
Winner will be announced at the awards ceremony


Members Only Login

PAL Cards Worldwide